HC Deb 16 June 1969 vol 785 cc25-6W
Mr. Dobson

asked the Postmaster-General what new appointments he is proposing to make to the Independent Television Authority Board of members to replace the six who will be retiring on 29th July.

Mr. Stonehouse

I am re-appointing Sir Ben Bowen Thomas for a further year as the member making the interests of Wales and Monmouthshire his special care. I am also appointing three new Members, Sir Frederick Hayday, C.B.E., for four years, Mr. Stephen Keynes for five years, and Professor John Millar Meek, for three years. I have decided not to fill the two remaining places but instead to use my powers under Section 1(1) of the Television Act 1964 to reduce the size of the Board from thirteen to eleven Members.

Forward to