HL Deb 24 July 1969 vol 304 cc1172-3WA

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What plans exist for encouraging the observance in the United Kingdom of the 25th Anniversary of the United Nations next year.


Her Majesty's Government believe that the 25th Anniversary of the United Nations should be an occasion for extending public understanding—especially among young people—of the Organisation and what it stands for. To this end, the Foreign and Commonwealth Secretary has decided to appoint a National Co-ordinating Committee under the Chairmanship of Sir Harold Beeley. I am delighted to say that His Royal Highness, The Prince of Wales has consented to be Patron of the Committee, and the leaders of the three main political Parties have agreed to be sponsors. The following is the membership of the Committee so far. It is hoped, however, that one or two names will be added later:—

Chairman: Sir Harold Beeley, K.C.M.G.

Vice-Chairmen: Mr. Humphry Berkeley, The Rt. Hon. George Darling, M.P., The Rt. Hon. Baroness Gaitskell.

Members: The Rt. Hon. The Lord Aylestone, C.B.E.; Mr. W. D. Barnetson; Mrs. M. A. Baxter; Mr. Gordon Bessey, C.B.E.; Mr. Andrew Boyd; Mr. Stanley H. Burton; The Hon. Edward Davies; Mr. Douglas Dodds-Parker, M.P.; Rabbi Dr. S. Goldman; Sir Ronald Gould; Sir Mark Henig; The Rt. Hon. The Lord Hill of Luton, PC; The Rev. W. B. Johnston, B.D.; The Bishop of Kensington (The Rt. Rev. Ronald Good-child); Mr. Gilbert Longden, M.B.E., M.P.; The Rt. Hon. The Lord Lothian; Mr. Evan Luard, M.P.; Miss Margaret Miles; The Rt. Hon. Philip Noel-Baker, M.P.; Professor Glyn Phillips; The Rt. Hon. The Lord Ritchie Calder, C.B.E.; Mr. Alan Robertshaw; The Rev. Edward Rogers; Sir Harold Shearman; Sir George Sinclair, C.M.G., O.B.E., M.P.; Mr. David Steel, M.P.; Mr. Michael Tyler; Mr. Brian Walker; The Rt. Hon. Kenneth Younger; Sir Philip de Zulueta.