HC Deb 28 January 1969 vol 776 cc294-5W
Mr. Jopling

asked the Minister of Transport if he will list the towns in England and Wales where his offices were shut on New Year's Day; which of them have begun a practice of closing on New Year's Day during the last four years; and which offices had a third day's holiday during Christmas week.

Mr. Marsh

The towns in England where my offices were closed on New Year's Day are given in the list below. (None was closed in Wales.)

Apart from the Gateshead office (which came into being only last year), none has started the practice of closing on New Year's Day within the last four years. All which closed on New Year's Day did so instead of taking the customary third day's holiday in Christmas week.

Towns in which offices closed on New Year's Day
Ashington Middlesbrough
Barrow Morpeth
Berwick-on-Tweed Newcastle-upon-Tyne
Bishop Auckland Northallerton
Blyth North Shields
Carlisle South Shields
Darlington Sunderland
Durham West Hartlepool
Gateshead Whitehaven
Kendal Workington

Forward to