HC Deb 18 November 1968 vol 773 cc213-4W
Mr. Gregor Mackenzie

asked the Minister of Transport if he will publish a list of the cities and towns in which local offices will be provided under the centralised scheme, planned for the 1970s for vehicle registration and vehicle and driver licensing.

Mr. Marsh

It has been decided, after consultation with local authorities and other interests, that when the centralised system is in full operation (planned for 1975) there will be 81 local offices of the Ministry at the places listed below, provided suitable accommodation can be found. The locations have been selected not according to national or local authority boundaries, but on considerations of geography, communications and population densities, with the aim of providing the most convenient distribution for the population of Great Britain as a whole. The operation of the local offices will be reviewed after two years' full working, to see what modifications to the network may be desirable.

The list is:

Aberdeen Leicester.
Aberystwyth. Lerwick.
Ayr. Lincoln.
Bangor. Liverpool.
Barnstaple. London (5 offices in the Greater London area).
Barrow-in-Furness. Luton.
Birmingham. Maidstone.
Bolton. Manchester.
Boston. Middlesbrough.
Bournemouth. Newcastle-upon-Tyne.
Bristol. Newport (I.O.W.).
Brighton. Northampton.
Cambridge. Norwich.
Canterbury. Nottingham.
Cardiff. Oban.
Carlisle. Oxford.
Chelmsford. Peterborough.
Chester. Plymouth.
Coventry. Portsmouth.
Dudley. Preston.
Dumfries. Reading.
Dundee. St. Boswells.
Durham. Salisbury.
Edinburgh. Sheffield.
Exeter. Shrewsbury.
Glasgow. Stirling.
Gloucester. Stoke-on-Trent.
Grimsby. Stornoway.
Guildford. Stranraer.
Hastings. Swansea.
Haverfordwest. Swindon.
Hereford. Taunton.
Huddersfield. Truro.
Hull. Warrington.
Inverness. Wick.
Ipswich. Worcester.
Keith. York.

Forward to