HC Deb 01 November 1968 vol 772 cc4-5W
Mr. Roebuck

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science how many of the 162 local education authorities have now implemented or had approved plans for the reorganisation of secondary education along comprehensive lines in the whole or part of their areas; and whether he will publish the names of those authorities who have not had plans approved.

Miss Bacon

Of 163 local education authorities, 116 now have plans implemented or approved; 89 relate to the whole or greater part of the area and 27 to a smaller part.

Of the remaining 47 authorities, 16 (Barking, Brighton, Burton-upon-Trent, Canterbury, Chester, Durham, Exeter, Halifax, Ipswich, Nottingham, Lincolnshire Kesteven, Redbridge, Southport, Sutton, Wigan and Wolverhampton) have a scheme under consideration by my Department; 7 (Bolton, Birmingham, Gloucester, Hillingdon, Harrow, Reading and Southend-on-Sea) have had proposals rejected and have not yet submitted revised schemes; 17 (Bath, Bexley, Bootle, Buckinghamshire, Derby, Leeds, Leicester, Norfolk, Plymouth, Portsmouth, Salford, Torbay, Stockport, Walsall, Warley, Warrington, and Yorkshire, N. Riding) have not yet submitted any formal scheme; and 7 (Bournemouth, Bury, Kingston-upon-Thames, Richmond-upon-Thames, Rutland, Westmorland and Worcester) have declined to do so.