HC Deb 05 July 1968 vol 767 cc290-1W
Dr. David Kerr

asked the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food if he will make a further statement about the proposed Committee on the Use of Antibiotics in Animal Husbandry.

Mr. Cledwyn Hughes

It is now possible to announce the membership of the Committee which, in addition to the Chairman, Professor Swann, will be made up of experts in agriculture, public health and veterinary medicine. They will be:

Dr. K. L. Blaxter, Ph.D., D.Sc, F.R.S., F.R.S.E., Director of the Rowett Research Institute, Aberdeen.

Mr. H. I. Field, M.Sc, M.R.C.V.S., F.C. Path., F.R.S.A., Director of Veterinary Laboratories and Veterinary Investigation Service, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, Weybridge.

Dr. J. W. Howie, M.D.(Aberd.), F.R.C.P. (Lond. and Glasg.), P.C.Path., Director of the Public Health Laboratory Service, London.

Professor I. A. M. Lucas, M.Sc, B.Sc, Professor of Animal Nutrition, University of North Wales, Bangor.

Dr. E. L. M. Millar, M.Sc., M.D.(Sheff.), M.B.Ch.B., D.P.H.(Lond.), Medical Officer of Health, Birmingham.

Professor J. C. Murdoch, B.Sc, Ph.D., Professor of Farm Management and Animal Husbandry, Director of the Agricultural Research Institute of Northern Ireland.

Mr. J. H. Parsons, M.R.C.V.S., Veterinary Practitioner, Trowbridge, Wilts.

Professor E. G. White, D.Sc, Ph.D., B.Sc.(Vet Sci.), B.Sc.(Physiol), F.R.C.V.S., Professor of Veterinary Preventive Medicine, University of Liverpool.

The Secretary of the Committee will be Mr. D. C. Todd of the Department of Agriculture and Fisheries for Scotland, and a technical secretariat will be provided jointly by the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food and the Ministry of Health.

It is hoped that it will prove possible to bring members together for a meeting of the Committee early in July.