HC Deb 19 October 1966 vol 734 cc57-8W
Sir R. Russell

asked the Secretary of State for Foreign Affairs if he will give a list of the colonial territories which have been considered by the Special Committee on the Ending of Colonialism of the United Nations since its inception; and if he will make a statement.

Mrs. White

The special Committee on the situation with regard to the implementation of the declaration on the granting of independence to colonial countries and peoples was established in November 1961 by General Assembly resolution 1654 (XV). Since it started work early in 1962, it has considered the following dependent territories:

Aden. Hong Kong.
Antigua. Kenya.
Bahamas. Malta.
Barbados. Mauritius.
Basutoland. Montserrat.
Bechuanaland. New Hebrides.
Bermuda. Northern Rhodesia.
British Guiana. Nyasaland.
British Honduras. Pitcairn Islands.
British Solomon Islands. St. Helena.
St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla.
Cayman Islands. St. Lucia.
Dominica. St. Vincent.
Falkland Islands. Seychelles.
Fiji. Swaziland.
Gambia. Turks and Caicos Islands.
Gilbert and Ellice Islands. Virgin Islands.


  • Portuguese
  • Angola.
  • Cape Verde.
  • Macau
  • Mozambique.
  • Portuguese Guinea.
  • Sao Tome and Principe.
  • Timor.
  • 58
  • Spanish
  • Fernando Po.
  • Ifni.
  • Rio Muni.
  • Spanish Sahara.
  • U.S.A.
  • American Samoa.
  • Guam.
  • Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands.
  • U.S. Virgin Islands.
  • Australian
  • Cocos (Keeling) Islands.
  • Papua.
  • Trust Territory of Nauru.
  • Trust Territory of New Guinea.
  • New Zealand
  • Cook Islands.
  • Niue.
  • Tokelau.
  • French
  • French Somaliland.
  • South African
  • South-West Africa.

Forward to