HC Deb 08 March 1966 vol 725 c463W
Mr. Arthur Lewis

asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer what appointments have been made to the Court of Directors of the Bank of England since January, 1966; what salary and expenses these new directors will receive; what other official appointments are held by these persons and at what salary and expenses; and how many hours per week of actual attendance at, or of office routine in, the Bank of England will be expected from these persons.

Mr. Callaghan

Four appointments were announced on 24th February, namely the appointments of the right hon. Lord Robens and Sir Ronald Thornton and the re-appointments of Sir Henry Wilson Smith and Mr. W. M. Allen, who is an Executive Director. Each Director receives fees in respect of his services on the Court at the rate of £500 a year. Executive directors working full-time for the Bank may in addition receive such remuneration as the Court of Directors may determine. Sir Ronald Thornton and Mr. Allen hold no other official appointments. Lord Robens is the Chairman of the National Coal Board at a salary of £12,500 a year with an allowance of £1,000 a year. Sir Henry Wilson Smith is the Chairman of the Committee on Employment of Civilians in support of the Armed Forces. He receives no salary and no expense allowance. Non-executive directors are expected to attend the Court, which meets once a week, as often as possible, to give such time as may be required by the Committees to which the Court may appoint them, and to be available to advise the Governors whenever called upon to do so.