HC Deb 23 February 1966 vol 725 c102W
Mr. MacArthur

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland what is the present composition of the Scottish Joint Council on Teachers' Salaries; and what changes there have been in recent weeks.

Mr. Ross

The Council consists of a chairman appointed by the Secretary of State and 30 other members appointed as followsThe "Teacher Members"

  1. (a) 16 teachers nominated by the Educational Institute of Scotland;
  2. (b) 2 teachers nominated by the Scottish Secondary Teachers' Association;
The "Authority Members (c) 4 persons nominated by the Scottish Counties of Cities Association; and (d) 8 persons nominated by the Association of County Councils in Scotland, equally in number representative of the industrial, semi-industrial, agricultural and highlands and islands areas of Scotland.

The most recent change in membership took place on 8th December, 1965, following the death of one of the nominees of the Scottish Counties of Cities Association.