HC Deb 28 April 1966 vol 727 cc54-5W
Mr. John Page

asked the Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations if he will publish a table to show those countries which, in 1945, were within the British Commonwealth or administered by the Colonial Office, and which since have received new constitutions giving them independence or republican status either within or outside the Commonwealth, and the dates on which those new constitutions came into operation.

Mr. Bottomley

I give below the information requested:

Territory Date of Leaving Remarks
Burma 4.1.48 On attaining independence as a Republic.
Republic of Ireland 18.4.49 Became a Republic and left the commonwealth.
South Africa 31.5.61 Became a Republic and left the commonwealth.

Territory Date of Leaving Remarks
Newfoundland Having been governed by commission became a province of Canada on 31st March, 1949 (British North America Act 1949).
Somaliland This protectorate joined the former Italian trust territory on 1st July, 1960 as Somali Republic outside the Commonwealth.
Western Samoa Formerly administered by New Zealand under mandate trusteeship. Became an independent Sovereign State on 1st January, 1962.
Maldive Islands Became an independent State outside the Commonwealth on 26th July, 1965.