HC Deb 17 June 1965 vol 714 cc99-100W
Mr. Astor

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science if he will publish a list of those education authorities which are either implementing or making concrete plans for the reorganisation of secondary education on comprehensive lines.

Mr. Crosland

It is not practicable to give exact information as the situation is one of constant development. The following lists are based on the latest information available in my Department.

I. Authorities with one or more comprehensive school at January 1965, according to current statistical classifications.
English Counties
Buckinghamshire Oxfordshire
Cornwall. Somerset
Cumberland Staffordshire
Derbyshire Suffolk West
Devon Warwickshire
Dorset Westmorland
Essex Yorkshire, East Riding
Hertfordshire* Yorkshire, West Riding
English County Boroughs
Birmingham Manchester
Bradford Newcastle - upon- Tyne
Coventry Nottingham
Grimsby Sheffield
Kingston-upon-Hull Sunderland
Leeds Walsall
Liverpool West Bromwich
Inner London Education Authority
Outer London Boroughs
Havering* Hillingdon*
Welsh Counties
Anglesey Glamorgan
Breconshire Merioneth
Caernarvonshire Monmouthshire
Cardiganshire Montgomeryshire
Carmarthenshire Pembrokeshire
Welsh County Boroughs
Newport Swansea
II. Other Authorities known to be making plans for secondary reorganisation in the whole or part of their areas.
English Counties
Durham Northamptonshire
Huntingdon and Peterborough Joint Board Shropshire
Suffolk East
Kent Sussex West
Leicestershire Wiltshire
Lincolnshire (Lindsey)
English County Boroughs
Blackburn Rochdale
Darlington St. Helens
Doncaster Southport
Leicester Stoke-on-Trent
Lincoln Wakefield
Middlesbrough Wigan
Oldham Worcester
Outer London Boroughs
Croydon Newham
Welsh Counties
Flintshire Radnorshire
Welsh County Boroughs
Cardiff Merthyr Tydfil
* Comprehensive schools in operation at January 1965, but included within the revised local education authority areas operative from April 1965.

Mr. Astor

asked the Secretary of State for Education and Science if he will publish a list of education authorities whose approved plans for secondary education are based exclusively on a comprehensive system in the whole of their area.

Mr. Crosland

There are at present three authorities whose maintained secondary school provision is wholly comprehensive—Anglesey, Montgomeryshire and Merioneth.