HC Deb 02 February 1965 vol 705 c277W
Sir Knox Cunningham

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies if he will give a list of those territories which have not yet incorporated in their legal systems the terms of the Merchant Shipping (Liability of Shipowners and Others) Act, 1958; and if he will state the progress which is being made in such territories towards the incorporation of such legislation.

Mrs. White

The list is as follows:

  • Antigua;
  • St. Kitts-Nevis-Anguilla;
  • St. Helena;
  • Tonga;
  • Aden;
  • British Guiana;
  • New Hebrides.

The first four do not wish the International Convention relating to the Limitation of the Liability of Owners of seagoing ships extended to them. Aden has not yet said whether they wish the Convention extended to them or not, nor have the New Hebrides in so far as British nationals are concerned. British Guiana intends to enact local legislation, but has not yet done so.