HC Deb 10 December 1965 vol 722 cc171-3W
Mr. Hazell

asked the First Secretary of State and Secretary of State for Economic Affairs, when he expects to appoint the members of the East Anglia and the South-East Economic Planning Councils.

Mr. George Brown

I announced yesterday the setting up of the Economic Planning Council for the East Anglia region with the terms of reference set out in my announcement of 25th February, and hope to announce the membership of the South East Economic Planning Council shortly.

The following have accepted my invitation to serve on the East Anglia Council.


K. A. Keith, Deputy-Chairman, Hill Samuel & Co. Ltd.


  • I. Baker, C.B.E., J.P., Chairman, Baker Perkins Holdings Ltd.
  • Col. J. G. A. Beckett, O.B.E., T.D., D.L., Member City of Ely Urban District Council.
  • W. J. B. Bridge, Member West Suffolk County Council.
  • J. A. Cook, J.P., Regional Organiser, National Union of Tailors and Garment Workers.
  • The Countess of Cranbrook, Chairman Aldeburgh Festival.
  • H. R. Davis, Member Ipswich County Borough Council.
  • Professor A. R. Emerson, Professor of Sociology, University of East Anglia.
  • A. H. Freeman, Chairman and Managing Director, Heatrae Ltd.
  • W. R. Hare, Chairman, J. & J. Colman Ltd.
  • E. Hartley, Director, Boulton & Paul Ltd.
  • Lord Hilton of Upton, J.P., Acting President National Union of Agricultural Workers. Member Norfolk County Council.
  • W. J. James, Alderman, Cambridgeshire and Isle of Ely County Council.
  • G. C. Lightfoot, Clerk of East Suffolk County Council.
  • D. E. Longe, President, Norwich Union Life Insurance Society.
  • G. McKay, Chairman of Eastern and East Midland Groups of Tiling Bus Companies.
  • A. S. W. Newman, Region Secretary, Eastern Region, National Federation of Building Trades Operatives.
  • G. Pawlyn, Chairman and Joint Managing Director, Ransomes Sims and Jefferies Ltd.
  • D. G. Pearce, Farmer; General Manager, Frederick Hiam Ltd.
  • F. W. W. Pemberton, Messrs. Bidwell & Sons, Chartered Surveyors and Land Agents, Farmer.
  • Professor C. R. Ross, Pro-Vice-Chancellor and Professor of Economics, University of East Anglia.
  • A. South, J.P., Alderman and Chairman of Policy Advisory Committee, Norwich City Council.
  • J. O. Stanley, Deputy Managing Director, Pye Ltd.
  • J. M. Stewart, J.P., District Organiser, National Union of Agricultural Workers. Alderman Ipswich County Borough Council.
  • Professor J. R. N. Stone, P.D. Leake Professor of Finance and Accounting, Cambridge University.
  • 173
  • L. Stubbs, Divisional Organiser, Amalgamated Engineering Union.
  • C. W. Swift, Member and Chairman, General Purposes Committee, Peterborough City Council.
  • Dr. T. W. Taylor, Member and Chairman Highways Committee, West Suffolk County Council. Member Mildenhall Rural District Council. Farmer.
  • M. J. Youngs, M.C., J.P., Joint Chairman and Managing Director, J. Youngs & Son Ltd.