HC Deb 15 April 1965 vol 710 cc245-6W
Mr. Ioan L. Evans

asked the Prime Minister if he will state the names of the delegates from the United Kingdom Parliament to the Consultative Assembly of the Council of Europe.

The Prime Minister

The Consultative Assembly of the Council of Europe will be meeting in Strasbourg from 3rd to 7th May. I have appointed 18 delegates from the Parliament of the United Kingdom. The delegation this year will consist of 9 Members of the Labour Party, 8 Members of the Conservative Party and 1 Member of the Liberal Party. I have also appointed a number of substitute delegates.

The appointments of Conservative and Liberal representatives and substitutes have been made on the basis of nominations by the Leaders of those parties.

The same delegation will be representing the United Kingdom Parliament at the Assembly of the Western European Union.

Representatives from the Government benches will be:

  • the hon. Member for Kettering (Sir G. de Freitas) (who will act as leader),
  • the hon. Members for
  • Bilston (Mr. Robert Edwards),
  • Birmingham, Ladywood (Mr. Victor Yates),
  • Carmarthen (Lady Megan Lloyd George),
  • Coventry, North (Mr. Edelman),
  • Glasgow, Maryhill (Mr. William Hannan),
  • Lichfield and Tamworth (Mr. Julian Snow),
  • and the right hon. the Earl of Listowel and Baroness Burton of Coventry.

Representatives from the Conservative Party will be:

  • the right hon. Members for
  • Barnet (Mr. R. Maudling),
  • Streatham (Mr. Sandys),
  • the hon. Members for
  • Aldershot (Sir E. Errington),
  • Honiton (Mr. Mathew),
  • Leicester, South-East (Mr. Peel),
  • Wembley, South (Sir R. Russell),
  • Weston-super-Mare (Mr. Webster),
  • and the right hon. the Earl Jellicce.

The representative from the Liberal Party will be:

Lord Grantchester.

The following substitutes have been appointed to act as necessary on behalf of the delegates:

From the Government benches:

  • the hon. Members for
  • Shoreditch and Finsbury (Mr. R. W. Brown),
  • Liverpool, Walton (Mr. Helfer).

From the Conservative Party:

  • the hon. Members for
  • Belfast, South (Mr. Pounder).
  • Buckinghamshire, South (Mr. Ronald Bell),
  • Cheltenham (Mr. Dodds-Parker).
  • Cirencester and Tewksbury (Mr. Ridley).
  • Reading (Mr. Peter Emery).
  • Richmond, Surrey (Mr. A. Royle).
  • Stroud (Mr. Kershaw).

From the Liberal Party:

Lord Henley.