HC Deb 25 November 1964 vol 702 cc182-3W
47. Mr. Stodart

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland how, many houses there are in each county of Scotland which are owned by a local authority, and whose occupation is restricted or supposed to be restricted to agricultural workers, retired agricultural workers or those whose work is regarded as being ancillary to agriculture.

Mr. Ross

Scottish local authorities have provided 3,098 houses with special Exchequer assistance which requires them or an equivalent number of other houses to be reserved for the agricultural population The following table gives the detailed figures.

Number of local authority houses provided specially for the agricultural population County
Aberdeen 466
Angus 176
Argyll 18
Ayr 312
Banff 48
Berwick 81
Caithness 20
Clackmannan 42
Dumfries 227
Dunbarton 62
East Lothian 133
Fife 95
Inverness 24
Kincardine 90
Kinross 14
Kirkcudbright 88
Lanark 444
Midlothian 78
Moray 72
Nairn 8
Peebles 26
Perth 182
Renfrew 36
Ross and Cromarty 24
Roxburgh 80
Selkirk 12
Stirling 166
West Lothian 28
Wigtown 44
Total 3,098

Back to