HL Deb 24 June 1964 vol 259 c304WA

asked Her Majesty's Government:

Whether they are able to announce the composition of the National Advisory Council on the Training of Magistrates.


I am glad to have this opportunity to announce that I have now appointed a National Advisory Council on the Training of Magistrates.

His Honour Judge Aarvold, the Common Serjeant of the City of London, has agreed to act as Chairman of the Council.

I have invited His Honour W. Lawson Campbell to serve as Deputy Chairman.

The Council is representative of different parts of the country, and it includes persons with great experience of A aspects of the work of magistrates. Some of the members have special knowledge of educational methods. The names of the members are as follows:

  • Mr. W. W. Addison,
  • Mr. A. L. Armitage, M.A., Ll.B.,
  • Sir Robert Blundell,
  • Mr. E. L. Bradley,
  • Lady Bragg,
  • Major General The Viscount Bridge-man, K.B.E., C.B., D.S.O., M.C.,
  • Mr. N. F. Cairncross,
  • Dr. Winifred Cavenagh, Ph.D.,
  • Mr. R. P. Colinvaux,
  • Mr. C. J. Collinge,
  • The Lord Cozens-Hardy,
  • Mr. D. A. Crockatt,
  • Mr. T. H. Evans, C.B.E., D.L.,
  • His Honour Judge Rowe Harding,
  • Dr. R. M. Jackson, Ll.D.,
  • Mrs. M. A. Richardson,
  • Mr. D. P. Rowland,
  • Mr. G. R. Swanwick, M.B.E., Q.C.,
  • Mr. J. P. Wilson, O.B.E.

My Department will be represented by Mr. A. M. F. Webb, C.M.G., who will act as Secretary to the Council.