HC Deb 10 June 1964 vol 696 cc72-3W
Mr. Gourlay

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland if he will publish in the OFFICIAL REPORT a list of the trunk road improvement schemes approved for the years 1961, 1962, 1963 and 1964, respectively, stating the estimated cost, the percentage of cost met by grant, and the names of the consulting engineeers in respect of each scheme.

Mr. Noble

Trunk road and motorway schemes of major improvement and

Year Scheme Present total estimated cost£ thousand Agent Authority or Civil Engineer
1961 Improvement between Lesmahagow and Cander-dyke, Lanarkshire 1,256 Messrs. Babtie, Shaw & Morton
Ayr-Prestwick Bypass (Stage II), Ayrshire 278 Ayr County Council
Crossgates-Cowdenbeath-Keltv Bypass (Stage I), Fife. 231 Fife County Council
Lockerbie Diversion, Dumfriesshire 826 Dumfries County Council
Improvement between Newhouse and Baillies-ton, Lanarkshire. 1,285 Lanark County Council
Reconstruction south of Millbank to Duneaton, Lanarkshire. 1,434 Messrs. Babtie, Shaw & Morton
1962 Improvement between Cluanie and Kyle (2nd Section) (Eas-nan-Arm Diversion), Ross and Cromarty. 399 Ross and Cromarty County Council
Reconstruction between Telford Bridge and Hector's Bridge, Lanarkshire. 1,008 Messrs. Babtie, Shaw & Morton
Improvement from Glenkinglas to junction of A.815, Argyllshire. 245 Scottish Development Department
Eastwood Toll Diversion, Renfrewshire 218 Alexander Frew
West of Cumbernauld to Forth and Clyde Canal, Dunbartonshire. 1,311 Dunbarton County Council
W. Fairhurst and Partners
Berriedale Bridge Diversion, Caithness 103 Caithness County Council
1963 Bonnybridge and Larbert Diversion, Stirlingshire. 1,413 Stirling County Council
W. Fairhurst and Partners
Harthill Bypass, West Lothian and Lanarkshire 2,084 Sir Alexander Gibb and Partners
Reconstruction between Hector's Bridge and Dumfries County Boundary, Lanarkshire. 1,058 Messrs. Babtie, Shaw & Morton
Improvement between Invergarry and Daingean Bridge, Inverness-shire. 327 Inverness County Council
Improvement between Ecclefechan and Kirk-patrick, Fleming, Dumfriesshire. 2,141 Dumfries County Council
Chupelhill Diversion, Berwickshire 214 Berwick County Council
Improvement at Longforgan, Perthshire 885 Perth and Kinross County Council
1964 Blackwood-Hamilton Motorway, Lanarkshire 8,110 Messrs. Babtie, Shaw & Morton
Latheronwheel Diversion, Caithness 186 Caithness County Council
In addition smaller schemes with a total cost of about £900,00C were approved each year.