HC Deb 23 May 1963 vol 678 cc60-1W
Mr. C. Johnson

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department whether the Departmental Committee which he undertook to appoint to inquire into the working of the Cruelty to Animals Act, 1876, has now been appointed; and if he will state its composition.

Mr. Brooke

I am grateful to all those who have accepted my invitation to serve on this Committee. The membership will be as follows:

  • Sir Sydney Littlewood (Chairman).
  • Mrs. Joyce Butler, M.P.
  • Lady Dyer.
  • Admiral Sir Guy Grantham, G.C.B., C.B.E., D.S.O.
  • Mr. Thomas Green.
  • Sir Charles Harington, K.B.E., F.R.S.
  • Mrs. Katharine Horsfall.
  • Sir Hugh Linstead, O.B.E., M.P.
  • Mr. Lionel McColvin, C.B.E.
  • Col. Sir James Miller, M.C., T.D., D.L.
  • The Rev. Edward Rogers, M.A., B.D.
  • Professor Francis Stammers, C.B.E.
  • Mr. Alasdair Steele-Bodger, M.A., B.Sc., M.R.C.V.S.
  • Lord Walston.

The terms of reference of the Committee, whose field of inquiry will include Scotland, are: To consider the present control over experiments on living animals, and to consider whether, and if so what, changes are desirable in the law or its administration".