HC Deb 04 March 1963 vol 673 cc13-4W
Mr. Beaney

asked the Minister of Housing and Local Government and Minister for Welsh Affairs which local authorities were building new houses by means of direct labour departments during the latest period for which the information is available.

Sir K. Joseph

Following are the local authorities in England and Wales with current direct labour schemes (i.e. dwellings under construction or approved but not started) on 31st December, 1962:

Northern Region Development Corporation
County Boroughs
Carlisle Aycliffe
Darlington Total 35.
Gateshead East and West
Middlesbrough Ridings
South Shields County Boroughs
Sunderland Barnsley
Tynemouth Bradford
Boroughs Kingston-on-Hull
Hartlepool Leeds
Jarrow Sheffield
Stockton-on-Tees Boroughs
Whitehaven Castleford
Urban Districts Pontefract
Ashington Urban Districts
Bedlingtonshire Shipley
Blaydon Worsborough
Brandon and Byshottles Total 9.
Chester-le-Street North Midlands
Consett County Boroughs
Felling Derby
Hebburn Grimsby
Hetton Lincoln
Houghton-le-Spring Boroughs
Newbiggin Chesterfield
Newburn Kettering
Ryton Mansfield
Seaham Scunthorpe
Shildon Rural Districts
Stanley Chesterfield
Rural Districts Total 8.
Chester-le-Street Eastern Region
Durham County Borough
Easington Norwich
Sedgefield Boroughs
Sunderland Bury St. Edmunds
Weardale Colchester

tions in England and Wales from burns by clothing were:

Urban Districts Midlands Region
Ware County Boroughs
Total 4. Birmingham
London Region Coventry
London County Council West Bromwich
Metropolitan Boroughs
Battersea Rowley Regis
Bermondsey Tipton
Bethnal Green Urban Districts
Camberwell Brownhills
Hackney Cannock
Hammersmith Total 9.
Lambeth North Western Region
St. Pancras
Stoke Newington County Boroughs
Woolwich Barrow-in-Furness
County Borough Blackburn
West Ham Bolton
Boroughs Bootle
Barking Liverpool
Dagenham Manchester
Edmonton Preston
Tottenham St. Helens
Walthamstow Salford
Willesden Stockport
Urban District Warrington
Crayford Wigan
Total 20. Boroughs
Southern Region Bacup
None. Crewe
South-Western Region Ellesmere Port
Borough Stalybridge
Poole Swinton and Pendlebury
Urban Districts
Camborne-Redruth Street Urban Districts
Rural District Huyton-with-Roby
Pewsey Litherland
Total 4. Newton-le-Willows
Wales Total 22.
County Boroughs South Eastern Region
Swansea Urban District
Boroughs Swanscombe
Port Talbot
Rhondda Rural Districts
Urban Districts Dartford
Bridgend Godstone
Rhyl Tenterden
Cwmbran Total 4.
Llanelly Total England and Wales
Total 10. 125 Local Authorities

Back to
Forward to