HC Deb 08 July 1963 vol 680 cc117-8W
Mr. Morris

asked the Minister of Transport where driving licence testing stations are situated in Wales; and how many Welsh-speaking examiners are available at each one.

Mr. Marples

I give below a list of the 25 driving test centres in Wales and Monmouthshire, at three of which—Carmarthen, Lampeter and Bangor—there is a Welsh-speaking examinee. Of the 63 Driving Examiners in Wales 44 lived there at the time of their appointment.

Name Place of residence Nominated by Period l5thNov.–14th Nov.
Councillor H. Beynon Cardiff Cardiff County Borough council 1958–1962
Councillor R. Davies, B.A. Ebbw Vale, Monmouthshire Ebbw Vale Urban District Council 1961–1963
County Councillor Major S. J. Dickinson, M.B.E. Pembroke Dock, Pembrokeshire Pembrokeshire County Council 1953–1956
County Councillor W. J. G. Evans Swansea Breconshire County Council 1959–1962
Alderman (later County Councillor) Lt.-Col. R. F. Foster, T.D., D.L. Haverfordwest, Pembrokeshire Haverfordwest Municipal Borough Council and from 1960 Milford Urban District Council also 1956–1963
County Alderman W. J. Greene, J.P. Abertysswg, Monmouthshire Monmouthshire County Council 1956–1957
Councillor (later Alderman) R. Gronow, J.P. Swansea Swansea County Borough Council 1955–1961
Councillor A. Hesling, M.B.E., M.C., J.P., B.Sc. (Econ.) Bridgend, Glamorgan Bridgend Urban District council 1953–1954
County Alderman B. G. Howells, O.B.E. Pembroke Dock, Pembrokeshire Pembrokeshire County Council 1962–1963
Councillor E. C. Jordon Caerleon, Monmouth Caerleon Urban District Council 1953–1957
County Alderman W. G. Macey, J.P. Ebbw Vale, Monmouthshire Monmouthshire County Council 1957–1959
Councillor F. Marchant Cymmer, nr. Port Talbot, Glamorgan Glyncorrwg Urban District Council 1962–1963
Alderman S. Mitchell, O.B.E., J.P. Tonypandy, Rhondda, Glamorgan Rhondda Municipal Borough Council 1957–1958
Alderman E. R. Morgan Brecon, Breconshire Brecon Municipal Borough Council 1962–1963
Councillor E. H. Parker Pontypool, Monmouthshire Pontypool Urban District Council 1957–1959
Councillor W. S. Pritchard, A.M.Inst.B.E. Builth Wells, Breconshire Builth Wells Urban District Council 1953–1962
County Alderman M. LL. G. Williams, J.P. Llanybyther, Cardigan Cardigan County Council 1954–1957
No deputy traffic commissioners are salaried, but they are entitled to subsistence allowances and travelling expenses.

List of Driving Test Centres
Abergavenny. Llanelly.
Ammanford. Machynlleth.
Bangor. Merthyr Tydfil.
Brecon. Mold.
Bridgend. Monmouth.
Cardiff. Newport.
Carmarthen. Newton.
Haverfordwest. Pwllheli.
Lampeter. Rhyl.
Llandrindod Wells. Swansea.
Llandudno. Wrexham.
Occasional centres
Cardigan. Bala.
Caernarvon. Holyhead.