HC Deb 18 May 1962 vol 659 cc156-7W
Sir W. Robson-Brown

asked the Minister of Housing and Local Government and Minister for Welsh Affairs what has been the result of his consideration of the representations made by local authorities who wish their areas to be excluded from his Greater London proposals.

Dr. Hill

I have already announced that the urban districts of Banstead, Caterham and Warlingham, and Walton and Weybridge should be regarded as falling outside Greater London.

I have now had discussions with representatives of all the other authorities who had asked for the exclusion of areas. I have given the most careful thought to what they have said: My conclusions are as follows: The urban districts of Cheshunt, Chigwell (with some boundary adjustment), Esher, Staines and Sunbury-on-Thames should be regarded as outside Greater London. I have concluded, however, that the borough of Romford and the urban districts of Barnet, Carshalton, Coulsdon and Purley, Feltham, and Yiewsley and West Drayton must be treated as part of Greater London. Requests were made by the county councils concerned for the exclusion from Greater London of the borough of Surbiton and the urban district of Hornchurch. I have concluded that both these areas should be included—as the borough council and the urban district council themselves desire. The northern part of the borough of Epsom and Ewell definitely forms, in my view, part of Greater London and must be included Other parts of the borough, including the town of Epsom, can properly be excluded. All the local authorities concerned have been informed of these conclusions. Provision to give effect to them will be laid before Parliament in the legislation for London government.

Forward to