HC Deb 06 March 1962 vol 655 cc41-2W
Dr. D. Johnson

asked the Minister of Housing and Local Government and Minister for Welsh Affairs if he will list in the OFFICIAL REPORT the borough and county borough authorities on whose behalf he has sanctioned compulsory purchase orders for schemes of central development which have subsequently been carried out by private development corporations; and if he will state the year of such sanctions.

Mr. Rippon

The information is not available in the form requested. The following boroughs and county boroughs, however, have approved comprehensive redevelopment schemes under the Town and Country Planning Acts. There have been several hundred compulsory purchase orders in these areas, some dealing with single properties. Private developers have played a part in many of these schemes but the balance between local authority and private enterprise development varies from scheme to scheme.

A. County boroughs

Bath. Liverpool.
Bootle. Manchester.
Birmingham. Newcastle-upon-Tyne.
Bristol. Norwich.
Burnley. Oldham.
Canterbury. Oxford.
Cardiff. Plymouth.
Carlisle. Portsmouth.
Coventry. Salford.
Croydon. Sheffield.
Dudley. Southampton.
Eastbourne. South Shields.
East Ham. Stoke on Trent.
Exeter. Swansea.
Gloucester. Wallasey.
Great Yarmouth. West Ham.
Grimsby. West Hartlepool.
Kingston upon Hull. Wolverhampton.

B. City of London

C. Metropolitan Boroughs

Bermondsey. Poplar.
Finsbury. Stepney.
Lambeth. Woolwich.

D. Non-county boroughs

Acton. Kidderminster.
Aylesbury. Leyton.
Beckenham. Lichfield.
Cambridge. Margate.
Chatham. Nuneaton.
Chichester. Scarborough.
Deal. Southgate.
Dover. Stockton on Tees.
Erith. Tottenham.
Falmouth. Twickenham.
Finchley. Walthamstow.
Gosport. Welshpool.
Halesowen. Weston super Mare.
Harrow. Weymouth.
Harwich. Whitehaven.
Heston and Isleworth. Willesden.
Hornsey. Winchester.
Jarrow. Wood Green.
Keighley. Worthing.

NOTE: The list includes towns where orders were made under the Town and Country Planning Act, 1944, for dealing with war damage or blight.