HC Deb 23 January 1962 vol 652 cc3-5W
Mr. Boyden

asked the Minister of Housing and Local Government and Minister for Welsh Affairs if he will list the 251 areas where the statutory lists of buildings of special architectural or historic interests are incomplete and indicate the degree of incompleteness.

Mr. Rippon

The areas where the statutory lists of buildings of special architectural or historic interest were in complete at 31st December, 1961, are set out below. The lists for these areas were compiled from documentary sources as an interim measure pending a full list based on physical survey. It is not possible to define the degree of in-completeness.


Borough and Urban Districts

  • Crook and Willington Urban District.
  • Gainsborough Urban District.
  • Haltemprice Urban District.
  • Leeds County Borough.
  • Scunthorpe Borough.
  • Worksop Borough.

Rural Districts
Abingdon. Blofield and Flegg
Alcester. Blyth.
Alnwick. Boston.
Ashbourne. Brackley.
Ashby-de-la-Zouch. Bradfield.
Atherstone. Braintree.
Axminster. Braughing.
Aylesbury. Bridge-Blean.
Aysgarth. Bridgnorth.
Bakewell. Bridgwater.
Barnard Castle. Bridlington.
Barnstaple. Bromsgrove.
Barrow upon Soar. Bromyard.
Basford. Buckingham.
Beaminster. Caistor.
Bedale. Camelford.
Bedford. Cannock.
Belford. Castle Donington.
Belper. Castle Ward.
Berkhamsted. Chailey.
Beverley. Chapel-en-le-
Biggleswade. Frith.
Billesdon. Cheadle.
Bingham. Chelmsford.
Blackburn. Chester.
Blackwell. Chesterfield.

Rural Districts (continued)
Chester-le-Street. Market Harborough.
Chorley. Marsham.
Clitheroe. Mere and Tisbury.
Clowne. Morpeth.
Clun. Nantwich.
Congleton. Newark.
Cran brook. Newbury.
Crediton. Newcastle under Lyme.
Croft. Newport Pagnell.
Darlington. Nidderdale.
Dartford. Norham and Islandshires.
Daventry. North Kesteven.
Derwent. Northallerton.
Doncaster. North Lonsdale.
Dore and Bredwardine. Northwich.
Dover. Norton.
Driffield. Okehampton.
Droitwich. Ongar.
Droxford. Osgoldcross.
Dunmow. Penistone.
Durham. Pewsey.
Easington. Ploughley.
East Elloe. Pocklington.
East Kesteven. Preston.
East Retford. Reeth.
Eastry. Repton.
Elham. Richmond.
Epping and Ongar. Ripon and Pateley Bridge.
Farringdon. Ross and Whitchurch.
Frome. Rotherham.
Gainsborough. Runcorn.
Garstand. Saffron Walden.
Glanford Brigg. St. Austell.
Goole. St. Germans.
Grimsby. Scarborough.
Hailsham. Sedgefield.
Halstead. Seisdon.
Haltwhistle. Selby.
Hatfield. Sheppey.
Hemel Hempstead. Shipton-on-
Hemsworth. Stour.
Hepton. Southam.
Hereford. S.E. Derbyshire.
Hertford. South Kesteven.
Hexham. South
Hitchin. Westmorland
Holderness. Spalding.
Hollingbourne. Stafford.
Horncastle. Startforth.
Howden. Stockton.
Hungerford. Stokesley.
Isle of Axholme. Stone.
Isle of Wight. Stratford-on-Avon.
Kingsbridge. Strood
Kingsclere and Whitchurch. Swale.
Kington. Tadcaster.
Kiveton Park. Tarvin.
Lancaster. Tavistock.
Lanchester. Tenbury.
Ledbury. Tendring.
Leek. Tenterden.
Lexden and Winstree. Thirsk.
Lichfield. Thorne.
Liskeard. Tiverton.
Louth. Truro.
Luton. Tutbury.
Macclesfield. Upton-upon-Severn.
Maidstone. Uttoxeter.
Market Bosworth. Wadebridge.

Rural Districts (continued)
Wakefield. Wetherby.
Wallingford. Wharfedale.
Wantage. Whitby.
Ware. Wigan.
Warrington. Wing.
Wells. Williton.
Welton, Wokingham.
Weobley. Worksop.
West Ashford. Wortley.
West Kesteven.


Borough and Urban Districts
Kidwelly Borough.
Rural Districts
Aberaeron. Holywell.
Aberystwyth. Llandeilo.
Aethwy. Lleyn.
Aled. Machynlleth.
Brecknock. Maelor.
Builth. Nant Conway.
Cardiff. Narberth.
Ceiriog. New Radnor.
Cowbridge. Ogwen.
Colwyn. Painscastle.
Crickhowell. Penllyn.
Deudraeth. Penybont.
Dolgelly. Pontypool.
Edeyrnion. Ruthin.
Gower. St. Asaph.
Haverfordwest Twrcelyn.
Hawarden. Valley.
Hiraethog. Wrexham.

Forward to