HC Deb 06 March 1961 vol 636 c7W
69. Mr. Critchley

asked the Lord Privy Seal if he will make a further statement on the new arrangements agreed by Her Majesty's Government for tourist travel to certain European countries.

Mr. Heath

Eleven member countries of the Organisation for European Economic Co-operation have agreed to recognise our simplified travel document—about which I told the House on 19th December—as a valid passport for visits of up to three months.

They are:

  • Austria.
  • Belgium.
  • France.
  • The Federal Republic of Germany
  • Iceland
  • Italy.
  • Luxembourg.
  • The Netherlands
  • Portugal.
  • Spain
  • Switzerland.

The agreement with Switzerland also includes Liechtenstein and I am informed that Malta and Gibraltar will admit holders of the new passport.

Discussions are continuing with Denmark, Norway, Sweden, Greece and Turkey.

The new document is to be called a British Visitor's Passport "and it will be obtainable from all labour exchanges in Great Britain from 15th March. It will enable tourists to enter and leave the countries mentioned in the same way as those holding normal British passports.

Back to