HC Deb 13 July 1961 vol 644 cc63-4W
58. Mr. Brewis

asked the President of the Board of Trade if he will give a list of development districts at present scheduled by him as eligible for assistance under the Local Employment Act, 1960.

Mr. Maudling

The following is the answer:



  • Aspatria.
  • Bishop Auckland, Crook, Shildon and Spennymoor.
  • Haltwhistle.
  • Hartlepools.
  • Haswell and Horden.
  • Prudhoe.
  • Scarborough.
  • South-East Tyneside including Jarrow and South Shields.
  • Sunderland, Seaham and Houghton-le-Spring.
  • Whitby.
  • Workington, Maryport and Cockermouth.


  • Bridlington and Filey.
  • *Skegness and Mablethorpe.



London and South-Eastern

*Isle of Wight.


  • Cornwall (excluding Bude, Launceston, St. Austell, Saltash and Truro).
  • Ilfracombe.
  • Gunnislake.


*Merseyside and Prescot.


Ammanford and Garnant.

  • *Pontardawe and Ystalyfera.
  • Anglesey.
  • *Bargoed, including Blackwood, Pontlottyn and Ystrad Mynach.
  • Blaenau Ffestiniog, Caernarvon, including Bangor and Bethesda.
  • *Merthyr Tydfil.
  • Milford Haven and Pembroke Dock.
  • Pwllheli and Portmadoc.
  • Rhondda.
  • *Pontyclun and Tonyrefail.
  • *Rhyl.


Aberdeen, Inverurie and Stonehaven.

  • Anstruther.
  • Ardrossan, Dalry, Irvine, Kilburnie, Kilwinning and Stevenston.
  • *Bathgate, Broxburn and the Calders.
  • Dumbarton, including Alexandria and Helensburgh.
  • Dundee and Broughty Ferry.
  • Dunfermline, Burntisland, Cowdenbeath and Inverkeithing.
  • Girvan.
  • Glasgow (including Barrhead, Clydebank, Kirkintilloch and Rutherglen).
  • Greenock and Port Glasgow.
  • Highlands and Islands (the seven counties of Argyll, Caithness, Inverness, Orkney, Ross and Cromarty, Sutherland and Zetland).
  • North Lanarkshire.
  • Paisley, Johnstone and Renfrew.
  • Peterhead, Fraserburgh, Banff and Buckie.
  • Rothesay.
  • Sanquhar.
  • Shotts.
  • Stranraer.

NOTE.—In those development districts marked with an asterisk the Board of Trade are not at present accepting applications for assistance.