HL Deb 18 December 1961 vol 236 cc646-8WA

asked Her Majesty's Government:

What are the objects of the Convention of Distinguished Citizens from the N.A.T.O. countries which is due to meet in Paris on the 8th January next and who are the members of the British Commission to the Convention.


(VISCOUNT KILMUIR): The objects of the Convention are to explore methods by which greater co-operation and unity of purpose may be developed between the N.A.T.O. countries so that democratic freedom may be promoted both by economic and political means. The members of the British Commission to the Convention are:—

  • Lord Crathorne,
  • Lord Ogmore,
  • Dame Florence Hancock,
  • Mr. Kenneth Younger,
  • The Hon. Alastair Buchan,
  • 648
  • Sir James Hutchison,
  • Mr. Raymond Cory,
  • Mr. Richard Goold-Adams, Sir John Slessor,
  • Mr. Paget.

House adjourned at eleven minutes past ten o'clock.