HC Deb 30 May 1960 vol 624 c91W
14. Mr. F. Noel-Baker

asked the Minister of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food if he will now announce the names of the members of his Food Standards Committee, and the interests they represent.

Mr. Hare

The following are the names of the members of the reconstituted Foods Standards Committee. The reconstitution of the Committee will not take place until the autumn.


  • R. Groves, Esq., M.A., B.Sc. (Oxon), F.R.I.C.—Master of Dulwich College.

Trade Members

  • Colin S. Dence, Esq., B.A.—Managing Director of Brand and Co. Ltd., a past President of the Food Manufacturers' Federation.
  • A. Glover, Esq., O.B.E., M.Sc., F.R.I.C.—Head of Research Department, Co-operative Wholesale Society Ltd.
  • E. W. Graham Guest, Esq.—A Director of MacVitties Guest and Co. Ltd. of Edinburgh.

Scientific Members

  • Professor B. S. Platt, C.M.G., M.Sc., M.B., Ch.B., Ph.D.—Director of the Human Nutrition Research Unit, Medical Research Council.
  • R. W. Sutton, Esq., O.B.E., B.Sc., F.R.I.C., F.C.S.—Public Analyst for the County and County Borough of Derby.
  • P. McGregor, Esq., B.Sc., F.R.I.C.—Representing the Government Chemist's Department.

Independent Members

  • C. A. Adams, Esq., C.B.E., B.Sc., F.R.I.C.—Barrister-at-Law. A past Vice-President of the Society of Public Analysts; Former Assistant-Secretary, Ministry of Food (now retired).
  • Mrs. M. Carroll-Marx, M.B.E.—Housewife. Head of the Food Department W.V.S.
  • J. A. O'Keefe, Esq., O.B.E., B.Sc., Ll.B.—Head of the Public Control Department of the Middlesex County Council.

Forward to