HC Deb 10 May 1960 vol 623 c40W
79. Mr. Sorensen

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies what areas, rulers and population in the Eastern and Western Aden Protectorates, respectively, are now within the Aden Federation; and what requests have recently been received from Yemeni tribesmen seeking to settle in the Protectorate.

Mr. Iain Macleod

The Amirates of Beihan and Dhala, the Lahej, Audhali, Lower Yafai, Lower Aulaqi, and Fadhli Sultanates, the Upper Aulaqi and the Aqrabi Sheikhdoms, and the State of Dathina are now within The Federation of Arab Amirates of the South. These States are all in Western Aden Protectorate. The total population of the States in the Federation is estimated at 375,000. The answer to the last part of the Question is "None".

Back to
Forward to