HC Deb 31 March 1960 vol 620 cc155-6W
Dame Irene Ward

asked the President of the Board of Trade whether he is now able to announce the first list of Development Districts under the Local Employment Act.

Mr. Maudling

Yes. The list comprises all those places which I mentioned in my reply on 9th February to the hon. Member for Blackpool, South (Sir R. Robinson), and also Anstruther, Dunfermline, Plymouth and the Isle of Wight. The complete list is:


  • Bishop Auckland. Crook. Shildon and Spennymoor.
  • Blackpool.
  • Bridlington and Filey.
  • Cornwall (excluding Bude. Launceston. St Austell, and Truro).
  • Haltwhistle.
  • Hartlepools.
  • Ilfracombe.
  • Isle of Wight.
  • Margate and Ramsgate.
  • Merseyside and Prescot.
  • Plymouth, Gunnislake and Saltash Scarborough.
  • Sheerness.
  • Skegness and Mablethorpe
  • South-East Tyneside.
  • Southwold.
  • Sunderland, Seaham, Horden and Houghton-le-Spring.
  • West Cumberland (excluding Millom and Wigton).
  • Whitby.


  • Aberdeen, Inverurie and Stonehaven.
  • Anstruther.
  • Ardrossan, Dalry, Irvine, Kilbirnie, Kilwinning and Stevenston.
  • Bathgate, Broxburn and the Calders.
  • Dumbarton.
  • Dundee and Broughty Ferry.
  • Dunfermline, Burntisland, Cowdenbeath and Inverkeithing.
  • Girvan.
  • Glasgow (including Barrhead, Clydebank, Kirkintilloch and Rutherglen).
  • Greenock and Port Glasgow.
  • Highlands and Islands.
  • North Lanarkshire.
  • Paisley, Johnstone and Renfrew.
  • Peterhead, Fraserburgh, Banff and Buckie.
  • Rothesay.
  • Sanquhar.
  • Shotts.
  • Stranraer.


  • Ammanford, Garnant. Pontardawe and Ystalyfera.
  • Anglesey.
  • Bargoed, Blackwood, Pontlottyn and Ystrad Mynach.
  • Caernarvon, Bangor, Blaenau Ffestiniog, Portmadoc and Pwllheli.
  • Llanelly.
  • Merthyr Tydfil.
  • Milford Haven and Pembroke Dock.
  • Rhondda. Pontyclun and Tonyrefail.
  • Rhyl.