HC Deb 23 March 1960 vol 620 cc50-1W
Mr. Thornton

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies if he will give the names and status of the members of the Hong Kong Governor's Standing Committee which keeps under frequent review problems of bribery and corruption in the Colony.

Mr. Iain Macleod

The Standing Committee appointed in 1956 consisted Of:

Chairman—Solicitor-General (later Principal Crown Counsel).


Establishment Officer.

Director of Anti-Corruption Branch.

Secretary to the Clerk of the Council (later Assistant Establishment Officer).

It has recently been decided to broaden its basis by the inclusion of unofficials. Its new composition is:



Establishment Officer.

Deputy Commissioner of Police.

Mr. H. D. M. Barton, M.B.E. (Temporary Unofficial Member of the Executive Council).

Mr. R. C. Lee, O.B.E. (Unofficial Member of the Legislative Council).

Forward to