HC Deb 22 July 1960 vol 627 cc72-3W
Mr. Brockway

asked the Minister of State for Commonwealth Relations, if he will state the names of the Chiefs or Sub-Chiefs in the three High Commission Territories who are receiving salaries from the Governments of their territories for administrative and other services, and the amounts of these salaries.

Mr. Alport

The only Chiefs or Sub-Chiefs in the High Commission Territories who receive salaries from Government are the Paramount Chief and the 22 Principal and Ward Chiefs in Basutoland. The Paramount Chief receives an annual salary of£3,600. The names and annual salaries of 21 of the 22 Principal and Ward Chiefs (one Ward Chief has not yet been gazetted) are as follows:

Chief Kuini Mopeli £202
Chief Tumane Matela £130
Chief Letsie K. Motsoene £1,220
Chief Jonathan Mathealire £586
Chief Mamathe G. Masupha £1,126
Chief Leshoboro Majara £220
Chief Makhabane B. M. Peete £538
Chief Reentsend G. Lerotholi £144
Chief Letsie K. Theko £740
Chief Mohlalefi Bereng £622
Chief Mohale Seeiso Maama £366
Chief Makopoi Api £148
Chief Harebatho Q. Letsie £144
Chief Lerotholi Mojela £326
Chief Nkhahle Mohale £220
Chief Joel Moholobela £284
Chief Mamohato Bereng £1,238
Chief Monare Moeketsi £166
Chief Qefate Sempe £970
Chief Theko Makhaola £948
Chief Bofila G. Lerotholi £144

The Chairman and the four members of the Standing Committee of the College of Chiefs in Basutoland receive respectively honoraria of£1,000 and£600 each.