HC Deb 29 October 1958 vol 594 cc3-4W
Mr. Page

asked the Minister of Housing and Local Government and Minister for Welsh Affairs what progress has been made towards the setting up of the two Local Government Commissions provided for in the Local Government Act, 1958.

Mr. H. Brooke

Her Majesty has been pleased to approve that the following persons be appointed members of the Local Government Commission for England: Sir Henry Drummond Hancock, K.C.B., K.B.E., C.M.G. (Chairman). Michael E. Rowe, Esq., C.B.E., Q.C. (Deputy Chairman). The Hon. Ruth B. Buckley, J.P. B. D. Storey, Esq., C.B.E. E. W. Woodhead, Esq., M.A.

The Act will permit the appointment of two further members.

Sir Henry Hancock and Miss Buckley will be appointed in a part-time capacity; the others named, including the Deputy Chairman, will be full-time. The warrant of appointment, which will be for five years, will be issued shortly.

I hope to be able to announce the names of the Local Government Commission for Wales soon.