HC Deb 06 May 1958 vol 587 cc87-8W
26. Mr. Ross

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland how many independent schools have registered under Part V of the Education (Scotland) Act, 1946; and how many of these have been inspected.

Mr. N. Macpherson

One hundred and fifty-eight schools have applied for registration and 116 of them have since been inspected.

Mr. Lawson

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland the names of 13 independent schools that are to be included among the direct grant-aided schools.

Mr. Maclay

The following is the list of 13 independent schools which at present receive contributions from education authorities under Section 25 (1) of the Education (Scotland) Act, 1946, and which may in certain circumstances qualify for direct grant aid after 16th May, 1959.


  • Albyn School for Girls.
  • St. Margaret's School for Girls.


  • Melville College.
  • John Watson's School.
  • St. Mary's Cathedral Choir School.


  • Laurel Bank School.
  • Kelvinside Academy.
  • The Park School.
  • Craigholme School.
  • Westbourne School.


  • Maxwelltown Benedictine Convent School.


  • St. Bride's School.


  • St. Columba's School.