HC Deb 26 June 1958 vol 590 cc36-7W
Mr. Stonehouse

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies in which districts of Tanganyika are the branches of the Tanganyika-African National Union which have been refused permission to register and declared unlawful, respectively.

Mr. Lennox-Boyd

The following branches of the Tanganyika African National Union have been refused permission to register:

  • Lake Province.
  • Mwanza.
  • Malampaka.
  • Nassa.
  • Nera.
  • Lushoto.
  • Morogoro District.
  • Karebezo.
  • Kondoa.
  • Shinyanga.
  • Geita District.
  • Bukokwa-Buchosa Geita.

In the case of the Morogoro District branch, registration has since been permitted to allow activities throughout the whole of Morogoro District save in the two sub-Chiefdoms of Mkuyuni and Matombo.

Branches have been declared unlawful in the Geita and Iringa Districts and at Korogwe in the Lushoto District.

Forward to