HC Deb 25 June 1958 vol 590 c25W
Mr. Hirst

asked the Postmaster-General to which countries the transferred charge telephone service is now available; and, having regard to the value of this facility to the business community and to those who holiday abroad, what prospects there are of still further extension of this service.

Mr. K. Thompson

The transferred charge service is now available or is about to be introduced in the telephone service with 14 countries in Europe and North Africa and 21 countries outside Europe including Canada, United States and South Africa. The following countries are concerned:

Europe and North Africa Outside Europe
Algeria British Guiana
Austria Canada
Belgium Hongkong
Denmark Iran
Faroe Islands Malaya
Finland Malta
France Singapore
Hungary South Africa
Luxembourg Rhodesia
Netherlands U.S.A.
Norway Ascension To be introduced shortly.
Sweden Bahrein
Switzerland Barbados
(Shortly) Federal Republic of Germany Doha
Fiji Islands
Leeward Islands
St. Helena
Windward Islands

I am glad that the new facility has been so warmly welcomed; it is my intention to extend it in collaboration with the overseas administrations concerned wherever mutually satisfactory arrangements can be worked out.

Forward to