HC Deb 23 July 1958 vol 592 cc43-4W
Mr. Malcolm MacPherson

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies by whom each of the twenty-three members of the Council of Makerere College is appointed.

Mr. Lennox-Boyd

The chairman, vice-chairman and hon. treasurer are appointed by the East Africa High Commission; the principal and vice-principal of Makerere College are ex-officio members of the Council; of the remaining eighteen members, two are appointed by the Inter-University Council, the Governors of Kenya, Uganda and Tanganyika each appoint three members, the British Resident of Zanzibar and the East Africa High Commission each appoint one member and five members are appointed by the Academic Board of the College from among the members of that Board.