HC Deb 23 January 1958 vol 580 c190W
Captain Kerby

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies if he will give the names of the members of the Ministerial Committee which recently examined the whole body of the laws of Mauritius; and on what date he anticipates that legislation to modernise Ministerial procedure and Governmental responsibilities will be placed before the Legislative Council.

Mr. Lennox-Boyd

The Ministerial Committee was composed of the three Ministers without Portfolio, Dr. Celestin, Mr. Rault and Mr. Vaghjee.

The Executive Council (Transfer of Powers and Duties) Ordinance, which was specifically designed to effect the changes in procedure recommended by the Ministerial Committee, was passed by the Mauritius Legislative Council on 6th December, 1957, and was brought into effect by proclamation on 1st January, 1958.