HC Deb 03 December 1958 vol 596 cc156-8W
Mr. Webster

asked the Secretary of State for Scotland if he has any statement to make about the Council on Tribunals which he is to appoint under the Tribunals and Inquiries Act, 1958.

Mr. Maclay

Yes. The House will recall that Section 1 of the Tribunals and Inquiries Act, 1958, which received the Royal Assent on the 1st August last, provided for a Council on Tribunals to be set up by the Lord Chancellor and myself. The function of the Council will be to keep under review, and report upon, the constitution and working of administrative tribunals and also of those administrative procedures which involve or may involve the holding of a statutory inquiry by or on behalf of a Minister of the Crown. The need for a supervisory body or bodies to watch over these tribunals and procedures was perhaps the most important recommendation of Sir Oliver Franks's Committee. Her Majesty's Government readily accepted the need for such a Council, and I am glad to say that the Lord Chancellor and I have been fortunate enough to secure the services of Lord Reading as Chairman of the Council. I am sure that his appointment will be warmly welcomed in all quarters.

The Act also provides for the constitution of a Scottish Committee, composed partly of Members of the Council and partly of others, whose function will be to consider Scottish tribunals and matters relating only to Scotland. The Lord Chancellor and I are very glad that we have been able to secure the services of Sir Hugh Rose, Bt., T.D., as Chairman of the Committee and a member of the Council.

The other members of the Council will be:

  • The Honourable R. E. B. Beaumont, T.D.
  • Mr. David B. Bogle, W.S.
  • Sir Herbert Brittain, K.C.B., K.B.E.
  • Mr. Harold Collison.
  • The Earl of Cranbook, C.B.E.
  • Miss Vera Dart, O.B.E.
  • Mr. E. Milner Holland, C.B.E., Q.C.
  • Major-General Sir Aymer Maxwell, C.B.E., M.C.
  • Mr. H. Wentworth Pritchard.
  • Lord Strathalmond, C.B.E.
  • The Viscountess Ridley, O.B.E.
  • Mr. H. W. R. Wade.

In addition to Sir Hugh Rose (Chairman), the Scottish Committee will consist of Sir Aymer Maxwell, Mr. Bogle, Mr. W. P. McGinniss, O.B.E., Mr. J. P. Morrison, O.B.E., Mr. I. H. Shearer, Q.C., and a further member still to be appointed.

The Secretary of the Council will be Mr. Alistair Macdonald of the Law Officers' Department, and the Secretary of the Scottish Committee will be Mr. I. M. Wilson of the Scottish Home Department.

Back to