HC Deb 07 March 1957 vol 566 c107W
Mr. Brockway

asked the Secretary of State for the Colonies under what Government Department or voluntary organisation the community development schemes in each Colonial and Trusteeship Territory are operated; from what sources the funds for such schemes are made available in each territory; and the amounts of such funds.

Mr. Lennox-Boyd

Community development in any territory draws support from many Governmental and voluntary sources. In some territories, e.g. Kenya and Uganda, there are Community Development Departments under African Ministers. In others, the responsibility rests with the Social Welfare Department, as in Cyprus and Hong Kong, or the Social Development Department, as in British Honduras and Tanganyika. In Northern Rhodesia and Nyasaland community development is the direct responsibility of the Provincial Administration. In all cases, non-Governmental agencies and voluntary effort are mobilised in support.

The history, objectives and organisation of community development are described in a Colonial Office publication (Miscellaneous No. 523) entitled "Social Development in the British Colonial Territories". I am sending the hon. Member a copy.

To attempt to give figures for the total financial resources available for community development schemes in any territory would be misleading: the Government appropriation to the relevant Ministry or Department, or direct grants for specific schemes, form only a part, and a variable part, of the resources which are drawn upon for this purpose. Community development appeals essentially to the initiative of the community and the response of the community may be in cash or in kind to an extent which cannot be accurately computed.