HC Deb 04 June 1957 vol 571 c85W
Mr. Ronald Bell

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department whether he will now announce the composition of the Departmental Committee on Proceedings before Examining Justices.

Mr. R. A. Butler

I have appointed the following to be members of the Committee under the chairmanship of Lord Tucker: —

  • Lady Adrian.
  • Mr. Norman G. Fisher.
  • Mr. T. Mervyn Jones.
  • Mr. F. H. Lawton, Q.C.
  • Sir Sydney Littlewood.
  • The Lord Merthyr, T.D
  • Miss J. J. Nunn.
  • Mr. J. C. Rodgers, M.P.
  • Mr. L. P. Scott.
  • Mr. David Weitzman, Q.C., M.P.
  • Mr. J. P. Wilson.

In consultation with the Chairman, I have amended the terms of reference which I informed the House on 15th April I proposed to give the Committee. The Committee's terms of reference are as follows:— To consider whether proceedings before examining justices should continue to take place in open court and, if so, whether it is necessary or desirable that any restriction should be placed on the publication of reports of such proceedings; and to report.