HC Deb 31 January 1957 vol 563 c225W
Mr. Mitchison

asked the Minister of Housing and Local Government which local authorities have made application to him under Section 5 of the Housing Subsidies Act, 1956; in which cases, when, and for what increases, he has given directions under that Section; and what is the total amount of additional Exchequer subsidy involved, to the latest convenient date.

Mr. Brooke

Fourteen have applied. They are: Barrow-in-Furness, Bootle and Smethwick County Borough Councils; Aylesbury Borough Council; Ashby Woulds, Canvey Island, Cwmamman, Dawley, Guisborough, Machynlleth and Mynyddislwyn Urban District Councils; Hay, Newcastle Emlyn and Upton-uponSevern Rural District Councils. The applications from Ashby Woulds Urban District Council and Upton-upon-Severn Rural District Council have been rejected. The remainder are under consideration.

Back to