HC Deb 02 April 1957 vol 568 cc31-2W
Mr. Mikardo

asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer who are the members of the Capital Issues Committee; what are their periods of office and their remuneration: and what are the terms of reference of the Committee.

Mr. P. Thorneycroft

The members of the Capital Issues Committee are:

  • The Rt. Hon. Lord Kennet of the Dene. G.B.E., D.S.O., D.S.C. (Chairman).
  • Sir Thomas Frazer, O.B.E., F.F.A. (Deputy Chairman).
  • Sir Otto Niemeyer, G.B.E., K.C.B.
  • Sir Percy Lister.
  • H. B. Turle, O.B.E.
  • M. F. Berry.
  • Sir Thomas Barlow, G.B.E.
They are not appointed for any specified period, and they receive no remuneration.

The Committee was appointed on 12th September, 1939, by the Chancellor of the Exchequer, with the following terms of reference: To consider and advise upon applications made to the Treasury for consent to the issue of capital, to the public offer of securities for sale, or to the renewal or postponement of the maturity date of securities in accordance with the provisions of Regulation 6 of the Defence (Finance) Regulations, 1939.

This Regulation has been replaced by the Control of Borrowing Orders made under the Borrowing (Control and Guarantees) Act, 1946.