HC Deb 07 November 1956 vol 560 c1W
Mr. Albu

asked the Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Works, as representing the Lord President of the Council, when he expects the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research Act, 1956, to come into force; what will be the composition of the new Research Council; and what remuneration its members will receive.

Mr. Bevins

By Order-in-Council dated 31st October, 1956, Her Majesty has approved 7th November as the date on which the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research Act, 1956, comes into force.

The composition of the new Council is: * Sir Harry Jephcott, D.Sc., F.R.I.C. (Chairman).—Chairman, Glaxo Laboratories Ltd. * Sir Eric Ashby, D.Sc., Sc.D.—President and Vice Chancellor, The Queen's University of Belfast. Professor C. E. H. Bawn, C.B.E., Ph.D., F.R.S.—Grant-Brunner Professor of Inorganic and Physical Chemistry, University of Liverpool. * Sir Hugh Beaver, K.B.E., M.I.C.E., M.I.Chem.E.—Managing Director, Arthur Guinness. Son & Co. Ltd. * Professor P. M. S. Blackett, M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S.—Professor of Physics, Imperial College of Science and Technology, University of London. * H. Douglass, Esq.—General Secretary, Iron and Steel Trades Confederation. Sir Walter Drummond, M.I.C.E., M.I.Mech.E.—A Director of George Angus & Co. Ltd., and also Smith's Dock Co. Ltd. * W. L. Heywood, Esq., O.B.E.—General Secretary, National Union of Dyers, Bleachers & Textile Workers. Dr. Willis Jackson, D.Sc., D.Phil., M.I.E.E., M.I.Mech.E., F.R.S.—Director of Research and Education, Metropolitan-Vickers Electrical Co. Ltd. * Sir Philip Johnson, D.Sc.—Deputy Chairman, R. & W. Hawthorn, Leslie & Co. Ltd. Professor E. A. G. Robinson, C.M.G., O.B.E., M.A.—Professor of Economics, University of Cambridge. Dr. H. W. Melville, D.Sc., F.R.S., the Secretary of the former Advisory Council, is Secretary of the new Council. Payment of £1,000 per annum to the Chairman and £750 per annum to each member of the Council has been authorised under Section 2 (5) of the Act. * Member of former Advisory Council