HC Deb 01 November 1956 vol 558 cc183-4W
Mr. de Freitas

asked the Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation why Her Majesty's Government have not ratified the Convention on Road Traffic signed at Geneva on 19th September, 1949, and ratified by Australia, Austria, Belgium (including Belgian Congo and Ruanda Urundi), Cuba, Czechoslovakia, Denmark, France (including Morocco, Tunisia and all French teritories overseas as well as Togoland and the Cameroons under French mandate in addition to the principality of Andorra), Greece, Israel, Italy, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, Philippines, Portugal, Sweden, Syria, Turkey, the Union of South Africa, the United States of America, Vatican City and Viet Nam.

Mr. Watkinson

Legal difficulties have been encountered in preparing the Statutory Instruments which will enable Her Majesty's Government to ratify the Convention. I hope however to be able to submit the draft Order in Council for Parliamentary approval in time to permit the Convention to be ratified before the beginning of the 1957 touring season.