HC Deb 29 March 1956 vol 550 cc231-2W
Mr. Tilney

asked the Minister of Education whether he will now announce the revised membership of the Central Advisory Council for Education (England).

Sir D. Eccles

Yes. The membership of the reconstituted Central Advisory Council for Education (England) is as follows:

  • Mr. Geoffrey Crowther—Chairman.
  • Dr. J. Macalister Brew—Educational Adviser National Association of Mixed and Girls' Clubs,
  • Mr. M. H. Cadbury—A Managing Director (Export and Education), Cadbury Brothers Limited.
  • Mr. A. B. Clegg—Chief Education Officer, County Council of the West Riding of Yorkshire.
  • Dr. H. Frazer—Headmaster, The Gateway School for Boys, Leicester.
  • Mr. T. F. Gilbert—Headmaster, North County Modern Boys' School, Ashford, Kent.
  • Miss B. A. Godwin—Assistant Secretary, Clerical and Administrative Workers Union.
  • Miss M. G. Green—Headmistress, Kidbrooke Comprehensive School, London.
  • Dr. V. M. Grubb—Principal, Salisbury Diocesan Training College for Teachers.
  • Dr. R. Holroyd—Director of Research, Imperial Chemical Industries.
  • Miss E. M. Huxstep—Headmistress, The County Grammar School for Girls, Chislehurst, Kent.
  • Professor A. V. Judges—Professor of the History of Education, University of London.
  • Dr. R. P. Linstead—Rector, Imperial College, London.
  • Lieut.-General Sir Kenneth McLean—Formerly Chief of Staff, Ministry of Defence.
  • 232
  • Mr. O. W. Mitchell—Headmaster, Royal Grammar School, Newcastle upon Tyne.
  • Professor N. F. Mott—Cavendish Professor of Experimental Physics, University of Cambridge.
  • Mr. W. F. Oakeshott—Rector, Lincoln College, Oxford.
  • Professor S. G. Raybould—Professor of Adult Education and Director of Extra-Mural Studies, University of Leeds.
  • Dr. M. Reeves—Vice-Principal, St. Anne's College, Oxford.
  • Professor T. S Simey—Charles Booth Professor of Social Science, University of Liverpool.
  • Mr. G. H. Sylvester—Chief Education Officer, Bristol.
  • Mr. B. G. Lampard-Vachell—Chairman, Devon Education Committee.
  • Dr. P. F. R. Venables—Principal, Royal Technical College, Salford.
  • Mr. H. A. Warren—Principal, South-East London Technical College.
  • Miss E. M. Wedekind—Headmistress, Sir Humphrey Gilbert Secondary School, London.
  • Mr. J. V. C. Wray—Secretary, Education Department, Trades Union Congress.
  • Mr. B. W. M. Young—Headmaster, Charter-house.