HC Deb 26 October 1955 vol 545 c36W
110. Mr. John Hall

asked the Under-Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations what facilities, including grants and scholarships, are available for the university education of students from Basutoland, Bechuanaland Protectorate and Swaziland.

Mr. Dodds-Parker

A number of places are available each year in United Kingdom universities for students from dependent territories, including the High Commission Territories. Until December, 1953, students were freely admitted to the South African universities. Since that date new admissions have been limited in number and confined to Fort Hare and Natal University Medical School. On present information this concession is available only until December, 1958. Students are also admitted to Roma University College, Basutoland. In each of the three Territories bursaries are provided from local revenues, from the Colonial Development and Walfare Fund and by the British Council. In Basutoland they are also provided by the National Treasury.