HC Deb 09 March 1955 vol 538 cc64-6W
Mr. K. Robinson

asked the Chancellor of the Exchequer to state the present membership of the University Grants Committee and of its Sub-Committee on Technology.

Mr. R. A. Butler

The present composition of the University Grants Committee is as follows:

Sir Keith Murray, B.Sc., Ph.D., M.A., B.Litt. (Chairman), Previously Rector and Bursar, Lincoln College, Oxford.

Professor W. M. Arnott, T.D., B.Sc., M.D., F.R.C.P., F.R.C.P.E., William Withering Professor of Medicine in the University of Birmingham.

Professor J. F. Baker, O.B.E., M.A., D.Sc., Sc.D., M.I.C.E., Professor of Mechanical Sciences and Head of Department of Engineering in the University of Cambridge.

Sir George Clark, LL.D., D.Litt., P.B.A., Provost of Oriel College, Oxford. President of the British Academy.

Professor R. S. Edwards, B.Com., Professor of Economics, with special reference to Industrial Organisation, in the University of London.

Mr. J. C. Gridley, C.B.E., Chairman, Vacuum Oil Co. Ltd.

Sir Geoffrey Heyworth, LL.D., Chairman, Unilever, Ltd.

Dr. Willis Jackson, D.Sc., D.Phil., F.R.S., Director of Research and Education, Metropolitan- Vickers Electrical Co. Ltd.

Dr. E. J. F. James, M.A., D.Phil., High Master, Manchester Grammar School.

Professor R. H. Matthew, C.B.E., M.A., A.R.I.B.A., Professor of Architecture in the University of Edinburgh.

Professor P. B. Medawar, M.A., D.Sc., F.R.S., Jodrell Professor of Zoology and Comparative Anatomy, University College, London.

Professor W. R. Niblert, B.A., B.Litt., Professor of Education in the University of Leeds.

Professor A. Robertson, M.A., B.Sc., Ph.D., F.R.S., Heath Harrison Professor of Organic Chemistry in the University of Liverpool.

Mr. E. L. Russell, C.B.E., M.A., Chief Education Officer, City of Birmingham.

Dr. H. G. Sanders, M.A., Ph.D., Chief Scientific and Agricultural Adviser to the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, formerly Professor of Agriculture in the University of Reading.

Mrs. J. L. Stocks, B.Sc.(Econ.)., Deputy President, Workers Educational Association; formerly Principal, Westfield College, University of London.

Sir George Thomson, D.Sc., F.R.S., Master of Corpus Christi College, Cambridge and Emeritus Professor of Physics, University of London.

Professor T. E. Wright, M.A., Professor of Humanity in the University of St. Andrew's.

The Sub-Committee on Technology consists of Sir Keith Murray (Chairman), Professor Baker, Professor Edwards, Mr. J. C. Gridley, Sir Geoffrey Heyworth, Dr. Willis Jackson, Professor Robertson and Sir George Thomson, together with the following:

Dr. J. W. Cook, Sc.D., Ph.D., F.R.S., Principal of University College, Exeter; formerly Regius Professor of Chemistry, University of Glasgow.

Sir Harold Roxbee Cox, Ph.D., M.I.Mech.E., F.R.Ae.S., Industrial Consultant; formerly Chief Scientist, Ministry of Fuel and Power.

Mr. H. W. Cremer, C.B.E., M.Sc., F.R.I.C., M.I.Chem.E., Consulting Chemical Engineer.

Sir Charles Darwin, K.B.E., M.C., Sc.D., F.R.S., Formerly Director of the National Physical Laboratory.

Sir Walter Drummond, M.lnst.C.E., M.I.Mech.E., Formerly Deputy Chairman, National Coal Board.

Mr. A. G. Grant, M.Sc., M.I.Chem.E., M.Inst.Gas.E., Director, Whessoe Ltd.

Mr. Noel Hall, M.A., Principal of the Administrative Staff College, Henley.

Sir David Hughes Parry, M.A., LL.M., LL.D., D.C.L., Professor of English Law and Director of the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies in the University of London.

Dr. L. B. Pfeil, O.B.E., F.R.S., Director. Mond Nickel Co. Ltd.

Dr. F. C. Toy, C.B.E., Director of Shirley Institute, Manchester (Research Station of British Cotton Industry Research Association).

Professor S. Zuckerman, C.B., F.R.S., Professor of Anatomy in the University of Birmingham.

The Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, the Ministry of Education and the Scottish Education Department have assessors on the Sub-Committee.