HC Deb 18 February 1955 vol 537 c93W
Mr. Janner

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department the scientific qualifications of each member of the Bird Protection Advisory Committee.

Lady Tweedsmuir

asked the Secretary of State for the Home Department who are the members of the Advisory Committee appointed under the Protection of Birds Act, 1954.

Major Lloyd-George

The members of the Advisory Committee on the Protection of Birds for England and Wales are as followsSir A. Landsborough Thomson, C.B., O.B.E., Miss P. Barclay-Smith, Mr. P. E. Brown, my hon. and gallant Friend the Member for East Grinstead, Mr. J. M. Craster, Mr. James Fisher, Mr. William Foster, Mr. Nigel Laing. Captain S. T. A. Livingstone-Learmonth, Mr. G. R. Mount fort, Mr. E. M. Nicholson, C.B., Major General A. G. O'Carroll-Scott, C.B., C.B.E., Mr. Peter Scott, C.B.E., D.S.C., and Mr. H. N. Southern.

The committee includes members able to speak for the point of view of sportsmen, landowners, farmers, fisheries and local authorities, as well as ornithologists, and in appointing them I had regard to relevant knowledge and experience rather than to specific scientific qualifications. But the Chairman is a scientist and ornithologist of distinction, and the members include the Director-General of the Nature Conservancy, a senior ornithologist of the Oxford University Bureau of Animal Population, the Honorary Director of the Wildfowl Trust, and other leading ornithologists.