HC Deb 01 December 1955 vol 546 c242W
108. Mr. Janner

asked the Minister of Education when the membership of the committee set up by him under Lord Hives to consider the question of awards in technology was completed; how many meetings of this committee have so far been held; and when it is expected to issue a report.

109. Mr. Malcolm MacPherson

asked Minister of Education to announce the details of the composition of the National Council for Diplomas in Technology.

Mr. Vosper

My right hon. Friend has appointed as members of the National CouncilSir Harold Roxbee Cox, Director, Wilmot Breeden Holdings Limited and Director, The Brush Group Limited; Sir Arnold Hall, Technical Director, The Hawker Siddeley Group; Dr. Willis Jackson, Director of Research and Education, Metropolitan Vickers' Electrical Company; Dr. Idris Jones, The National Coal Board; and Mr. E. L. Russell, Chief Education Officer, Birmingham. The remaining six members of the Council will be elected by the Boards of Studies, which are meeting for this purpose on the 15th December, and the full Council will meet for the first time on the 19th December. It will be for the Council to decide what statements and reports it is to issue from time to time.