HC Deb 10 November 1954 vol 532 c144W
Mr. Watkins

asked the Minister of Housing and Local Government to give the names of the housing authorities in Wales which have not so far operated Part II of the Housing Act, 1949, and allowed grants for the improvement of houses.

Mr. Sandys

Of the 168 housing authorities in Wales, 151 operate the provisions of Section 20 of the Housing Act, 1949, or are prepared to operate those provisions if applications are received. Seventeen authorities are not prepared to make grants at present, namely: Merthyr Tydfil C.B.C., Conway B.C., Llandovery B.C., Pembroke B.C., Aberdare U.D.C., Abertillery U.D.C., Bettws y Coed U.D.C., Brynmawr U.D.C., Ogmore and Garw U.D.C., Pontypool U.D.C., Risca U.D.C., Caerphilly U.D.C., Cwmamman U.D.C., Hay U.D.C., Llanfairfechan U.D.C., Llwchwr U.D.C., and Mountain Ash U.D.C.

Back to